#ConfabFridays -Don’t Fall Right In!

Today on Confab Fridays I want to tell you something important, maybe it can help you or someone you might know.

Therefore, let me tell you a true story,

Sometime in 2014 I received a direct message from someone on twitter named ‘’Oma’’. Oma contacted me because somehow she was aware I was a model. I wanted to know what Oma had to say so I responded to her message. Oma began telling me about how she was a model but she’s out of the country schooling and she has a lot of jobs piled up for her. She told me that usually when that happens she has people fill in for her. I thought that story was fishy but I didn’t say anything. I told her that it’s no big deal, what’s the next step. Oma told me that she’ll give me a guy’s number and I’m to contact him because he was the one in charge. She didn’t give me his number but she gave me his pin and that was the end. I didn’t speak to her again.

I added the guy on bbm and we got talking. I can’t remember his name but let me call him ‘’Kedy’’. The conversation moved on then he told me to send pictures of myself to him and pay five thousand naira for something.  I asked him why and he said he wanted to see if I would fit the job so he can forward the picture to the clients. This was another fishy twist so I began asking him questions. I asked who the clients were, what the job description was, the profit I’ll make from it , what the money I was to pay was needed for,  the location etc and similar questions. I could read his tone change through his words via bbm. He told me I was not entitled to any answers and that my part to play was to send my pictures, pay the amount of money. He told me that there were a lot of girls that needed the spot and I shouldn’t feel important. From that moment, my suspicions were made clear. This is a scam! That’s why it’s been fishy from the onset. He deleted me from bbm immediately.

I went back on twitter and tweeted that people should steer clear of that Oma’s account because she’s a scam. I mentioned her. I went back to her profile but I couldn’t access it because I had been blocked.

I didn’t talk about it again after that time until this year.

In July, a friend of mine sent me a message to find out details on modeling. She asked me if one had to pay money to cast for a job. She also told me a girl introduced her to the guy that told her to pay five thousand naira or ten thousand naira for the casting. Immediately I read her message, I just knew it! I told her to fleeeeeeeeeee that it was a scam. I had a feeling it had to be those people who sent me that similar message the last year.

To confirm, I told her to take screen shots of the chat and also the profile of the girl that introduced her to him.

Not to my surprise, the pattern of conversation was sooooo alike and I just shook my head.

See the screenshots below (Pay attention to the captions and the circled conversations:

Her Profile As At When She Sent Me The Message, 2014
Her Profile As At When She Sent Me The Message, 2014

 

Her profile after she blocked me
Her profile after she blocked me

 

Her Profile As At July this year, when she sent a message to my friend
Her Profile As At July this year, when she sent a message to my friend

 

Her conversation with me (1)
Her conversation with me (1)

 

Conversation with my friend (1)
Conversation with my friend (1)

 

Her conversation with me (2)
Her conversation with me (2)

 

 

Her conversation with my friend (2)
Her conversation with my friend (2)

 

 

Conversation with me (3)
Conversation with me (3)

 

 

Her conversation with me (3) continued...
Her conversation with me (3) continued…

 

 

Her conversation with me (3) continued...
Her conversation with me (3) continued…

 

 

Conversation with my friend (3)
Conversation with my friend (3)

 

 

That is the end of the first line of conversation. Can you see how similar the words are? Well, these next set of screenshots are my friend’s conversation with the guy, my own conversation with him has been long deleted.

 

My friend's conversation with the guy.
My friend’s conversation with the guy (1)

 

My friend's conversation with the guy.
My friend’s conversation with the guy. (1) continued…

 

My friend's conversation with the guy.
My friend’s conversation with the guy. (2)

 

That’s about it for the screenshots.

The girl was Oma to me and Chelsea to my friend. It’s possible the so called guy could be the girl, or the so called girl could be a guy. It’s possible all this is one person or a group of people with many accounts. It could be real or a prank or a scam.

Just be careful when it comes to things that have to do with what you do or your passion, people can use you to extort money and what not.

It’s the weekend!!!!!!! What are you gonna do?

Blog Signature

One Comment Add yours

  1. Tosin says:

    Wow Sharon thank u for that warning…thank God u and ur friend didn’t fall

    Like

Comments?

