Set at midnight

 

This may be a three day old post but the real deal is…I landed a movie role!

unnamed (2)

Well…you can look at it that way.

Monday was not fun at all. From 1pm to 1am the next day I was on set.

Once upon a fine morning a young girl was just chilling at home plaiting her younger sister’s hair into cornrows then she received a phone call. A phone call from her manager. The call she received requested her presence at the scene of a movie for a minor role.


Before I proceed, who remembers my manager? πŸ˜‚ If you’ve read my throwback to the elite days post, then you’d definitely remember her.

This is she.

9fadc-sdc19548

Hahaha I’ll forever love this picture because I took it. Okay let me not spoil her market.

This is she…again.

IMG-20160723-WA0001

 

And this is us during the elite days

23b24-rons

I’ve always looked beautiful. No, say no more. I know.

 


Okay, moving on…this girl thought to herself, “hmmmm, summer, summer, we’re here”. After all she had no major plans for that day so she got ready in time (in about an hour). Hey, I’m the girl (duh?!) and I called on my friend to tag. So it was the both of us.

When we arrived the location, there were a few people at the gate but wait…have you ever wondered how Nigerians or people in general sef get to hear about things happening like movie shoots, video shoots or photoshoots? Especially the shoots that are in house, upon request or on invite just as this one?
I wonder, I have wondered and I still wonder how.

Anyway, the production manager was expecting us so immediately we got there we had a “make way, make way, pave way, roll the carpet” moment as one of the guys came out to say “let them in”.

When we settled in, we got our make up started (my manager and her bestie did my make up). From our make up we went to get our hair styled and then we went for dress fittings.

All this was done within 3 hours and then we waited “a bit” before stepping into the hall where the shooting took place. We walked in at about 6pm. That’s what waiting “a bit” is like, it’s 3 hours. 3 hours of hunger and thirst even though all glammed up and stuff πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I won’t bore you with word for word details because it’ll just turn into one blog novel here.

Our scene was the wedding scene. So we were three guests having a conversation at the bar and then moving on to the dance floor to bogey gown (I honestly do not know how to bogey down, I just want to say that, the girl in that scene is not me. I do not know her, she’s probably my alter ego or doppelganger).

I know that scene seems like something pretty short, in fact it was or was supposed to be but we had about 40 takes of each angle conbined if I’m not wrong and this was because of noise from people inside or outside. I couldn’t feel one of my toes until yesterday.

Standing in heels for 7 hours and sitting for about 10 minutes combined out of the whole 7 hours at different times was not it at all. It totally reminded me of my Elite model look days where we’d all stand and walk in heels for practically the whole day.

I guess I’m just really used to theater and believe me there’s a difference, a huge difference between film and theater.
I was thinking, if that’s how it was for me, a minor cast, what about the major cast? Nahh, they’re probably just used to it.

In the end though, it was actually fun, I’m not gonna lie – the people, the food, the music and the drinks. Those were fun.

Watch out for the movie, “Isoken” starring Dakore Egbuson-Akande, Funke Akindele, Damilola Adegbite-Attoh, Lydia Forson, Nedu and a host of others.

This was my look
This was my look

 

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

 

My face when someone who wasn't called into my conversation comes in and cracks a joke intended to be funny
My face when someone who wasn’t called into my conversation comes in and cracks a joke intended to be funny

Snapchat-339519285600060707

You like pictures too much, I can feel it from here πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

And now, the summer continues.
That reminds me, I’d be attending the Nfbyard sale on July 24th at Ikoyi, if you’d be there, it would be nice to connect 😊

Meanwhile, would it be nice to just read this post to the end and not follow me on social media? Think about the future

200w_d

Twitter: @SharonMauve

Instagram: @Nton_

Snapchat: Shariieemauve

Blog signature

One Comment Add yours

  1. PAUshit says:

    Omggggg, you’re in Isoken!

    Like

Comments?

