Broken to be Built again

Yesterday, I read out my first eulogy before a crowd.
The past weeks have been so melancholic.

I never thought I’d ever write and read a eulogy, at least even if I did, not over the loss of a person so young and full of life but sometimes, things turn out differently.

My first eulogy was to my cousin.
I’ve never had someone that close to me die so I don’t quite know how I felt or how to feel but it leaves me stunned.

Losing a person is like losing a star. The light they give goes off. They become present in memory, present in thought but no longer in reality.

All you have are the pieces.

But I want to encourage you by sharing part of my eulogy with you because I believe you may need it too.

If you lost someone (or something) and you’re not so sure how to deal with it, I want you to remember:

“A thing of beauty is a joy forever: Its loveliness increases; it will never pass into nothingness…” – John Keats

Your loss will hurt because you’ll be forced to accept a reality you didn’t prepare for.

There is a time to break down and a time to build up. Now you have broken down, focus on building up – that is what the person you lost may even expect of you.

“For what it’s worth … There’s no time limit. Start whenever you want. You can change or stay the same. There are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people who have a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of, and if you’re not, I hope you have the courage to start all over again.” – Eric Roth

One day, you will understand. But until the day you do, find your comfort in Jesus Christ because only he can give you the peace you deserve.

 

Have a joyful week ahead!

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Ice says:

    Lovely post. Keep writing and inspiring people with your blog.

    Like

Comments?

